Kappa's Host 31st Annual Memorial Scholarship Golf Tournament

The San Diego Alumni Chapter of Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, Inc., along with the San Diego Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity Education and Mentoring Fund 501(c)3 held the 31st Annual LtCol Clancy Davis and Bobby Hatcher Memorial Scholarship Golf Tournament on Saturday, June 2, 2018 at East Lake Country Club in Chula Vista. The Chapter was chartered in San Diego on April 30, 1950, and soon thereafter, secured a chapter for an undergraduate chapter of the fraternity on the campus of San Diego State University. This Chapter, the Delta Epsilon Chapter was the first Historical African American Fraternity on the campus.

Over the past ten years, the San Diego Alumni Chapter has awarded over

$97, 000 in scholarships to help young men and women from the San Diego County schools attend colleges and universities across the country. Additionally, the chapter has established a mentoring program for High School Aged young men and has given over Two Hundred Bicycles to community youth through schools, the Jackie Robinsons YMCA and the Neighborhood House Association during the Holiday season.

This year, six young men (4 High School Students and 2 Members of the Delta Epsilon Chapter) were selected to receive $1,000 scholarships after having submitted essays, letters of recommendation and being interviewed by the scholarship Committee, led by Dameian Buncum. The winners this year are: Kahtrel Maynard (Morse High School) receiving the James O. Whaley Scholarship, Andrew Adegbola (Helix Charter H.S.) receiving the Bert Richey, Esquire Scholarship, Markus Garrett (Otay Ranch H.S.) receiving the Preston Kelley Scholarship, Daisen Crawford (Grossmont H.S.) receiving the Roy E. Logan Scholarship, Joshua Ross (Delta Epsilon Chapter SDSU) receiving the Dr. Charlie Carmichael Book Award, and Xavier Aguilar (Delta Epsilon Chapter SDSU) receiving the Honorable Napoleon A. Jones, Jr. Scholarship.

Tournament Team Winners were: 1st Place (Daryl Forbes, Greg Williams, Danny Walker and Bernard Dixon), 2nd Place (Robert Walton, Cedric Wilcox, Victor Crawford and Carl Rustin) and 3rd Place (Ricky Hereford, Rudy Johnson, Tony Brito, and Tony Young).

Recent Posts